Unsaid Words

Unsaid Words

Dearest Darling,

This would probably my last  letter to you. In all honesty, my heart still stings as my pen bleeds these words but after a year of contemplating things; after all those nights I spent myself crying to bed. I had finally gathered all my courage to bid my last good bye to you. The times that we had  were awfully wonderful; those times spent together would always be tattooed in my mind. I would always remember you with all those simple little things: the Russian songs that we used to listen in the car that I had learned to love, the food that you always prepared for me, the natural scent of you, and most especially the way you made me feel  loved and wanted. But you see, not all love stories have a happy ending. We had to accept the fact that ours, was just one of those “once upon a time” which isn’t lucky enough to have a happy ever after.Things have changed, my darling. For a long time, I had left my door opened for you but all you did was to come in and out whenever you feel you wanted to, that’s why I am not allowing you to play with it anymore and I am sorry if I couldn’t keep my promise because I couldn’t allow myself to be your doormat anymore.So rather, I am letting everything goes.I am closing my door for you, love. It’s time for you to go.

I am not bitter anymore and if one day, our paths will cross again with our new different lives, I could look at you straight in the eyes with a huge smile in my face and with no guilt in my heart but only with a great joy because I knew in my heart that what we had and what I had showed and made you feel were real.Our story had started with “Once upon a time, they were exactly what the other needed…” and tragically ended in “but it’s time for them to part.” Darling, it’s time for us to part.


She heaved a deep breath and stared at him directly in the eyes and said, “And I hope you’re happy. I hope you wouldn’t wake up one day feeling melancholic, thinking if you made a right decision. I wish you wouldn’t settle on something for the sake of comfort. I wish you found something that you’re crazy about that you couldn’t bear just the thought of losing it. And when you finally found it, don’t ever let it go. Stick to it, hold onto it. And never allow anyone to take it away from you.” “But I love you. And it’s you that I want to spend the rest of my life with.” He said breathlessly. She looked at him, smilingly she answered, “But I’m happy now. I mean the sky would still be a sky without you. Her voice was full of coldness. For a moment, he thought his world had just shattered into tiny pieces. He knew it was over when he looked at her eyes only to realize she didn’t look at him anymore the way she used to. She was looking through him as if he was just one of those strangers she had met on the street. He looked up at the night sky and saw a gazillion twinkling stars but he knew to his heart that he may find gazillion stars, there would only one moon who could only light up his dimly world. And he lost it not so long time ago.

3 thoughts on “Unsaid Words

Leave a Reply

